Pennsylvania drivers must carry minimum auto insurance before they can register or drive their vehicles. While mandatory, auto insurance also protects drivers from liability they may incur if they’re in an accident.
To register an automobile in Pennsylvania, drivers must show proof of insurance. PA drivers who operate a motor vehicle without insurance could have their driver’s license suspended for three months.
When shopping for car insurance, buy a policy with bodily injury liability, property damage liability and medical expenses. Pennsylvania law does not require drivers to carry uninsured or underinsured motorist, collision or comprehensive coverage, but talk with Marine Agency about adding these important options. They provide financial protection and peace of mind as you drive.
This coverage covers expenses that may occur if another driver or a pedestrian is injured or killed because of an accident you caused. Required limits are set at $15,000 per person and $30,000 per accident, but many drivers carry $100,000 per person and $300,000 per accident.
If you’re at fault for an accident that damages someone else’s property, including another vehicle or a house or structure, this portion of your PA car insurance covers related expenses. Carry the required $5,000 limit or protect yourself further with a higher coverage amount.
When you or your passengers are injured during an accident, medical expenses coverage pays for your medical or funeral costs. You’ll need to carry at least $5,000 to be insured legally.
At Marine Agency, we understand Pennsylvania law, and we’re here to meet your insurance needs. Whether you want basic or full coverage for one or several drivers, we work with numerous companies to offer you the most comprehensive, convenient and affordable car insurance around. We also offer discounts when you combine your auto and home insurance policies. Contact us today for a free quote as you prepare legally and financially to own and operate a vehicle in Pennsylvania.